Archive for April 23rd, 2010

What is the Hunger Mountain Prize for Young Writers?

An annual contest for high school students. A chance for your fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction to be read by Hunger Mountain editors and guest judges!

What will the winners receive?

Three first place winners receives $250 and publication!
Three runners-up receive $100 each.

There will be a first place winner and runner up in each category: fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry.

Who can enter the contest?

Any high school student with a piece of poetry, fiction, or creative nonfiction.

Who is this year’s judge?

The 2010 judge is M.T. Anderson, National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; Burger Wuss; and Feed.

When is the deadline?

The postmark deadline is April 30.

Is there an entry fee?

Yes. The entry fee is $10.

What kind of poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction is acceptable?

We accept all forms of poetry, and poets may enter up to three poems in one entry packet.

Fiction can be experimental of traditional.

Creative nonfiction can be a personal essay or a mini-memoir.

See complete information here: Hunger Mountain Contest for Young Writers

Read Full Post »